Perfectly Pitched

GROUPON

Posted on: July 1, 2010

What is Groupon? It’s a whole group getting a coupon! Basically, each day, Groupon will feature a great deal or bargain on something cool to eat, see or do in your city. Once a minimum number of people sign up for the deal, it activates and everyone receives the discount! Groupon calls it “collective buying power!”

I’ve seen some amazing deals on things that I love in Los Angeles: Umami Burger, Sprinkles Cupcakes and massages and facials at upscale spas. Besides being a great way to generate sales, Groupon is a great publicity tool. Even if I choose not to participate in the deal of the day, I’m usually intrigued by the restaurant, class or venue and learn more about it by clicking through to see what they’re about.

Because Groupon is localized, it’s a perfect opportunity for orchestras, opera companies and other arts venues to outreach to their immediate audience and perhaps a new group of folks looking for a deal on something fun to do in their city. I can’t wait for the day I see a Groupon deal for the LA Phil or LA Opera!

Leave a comment

Daphne Wang: Public Relations and Violinist

About Daff

Professional violinist and public relations executive making her way around Manhattan. I recently moved to NYC and can usually be found exploring new eateries, concert venues or flying in and out of JFK. I'm also constantly daydreaming about how to marry my two loves - how can classical musicians and organizations adapt the latest PR strategies to fit the classical music industry?